Marysville Raceway

Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Special Events
Official Rules
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Industry Links
Contact Us

Clash of Champions This Saturday Night at Marysville
by Troy Hennig

Marysville, CA (June 27, 2017) – There will be fireworks on and off the track this Saturday night, July 1st, at Marysville Raceway. For the second year in a row the speedway will host a post-race spectacular light show featuring giant aerial fireworks in the sky. The idea is to give the Marysville fans an early start on their July 4th celebrations.

Before the fireworks start, the fans will be treated to an amazing night of racing led by the popular traveling sprint car group known as the Civil War Series. Joining them are the IMCA Sport Mods, wingless sprints and Super Stocks. Both divisions will race for track championship points. The Vintage Hard Tops will offer the fifth and final division on this night.

On the track, the racing will heat up as the two most decorated and versatile drivers in the history of the Civil War Sprint Car Series, Auburn’s Andy Forsberg and Roseville’s Sean Becker, will contend for the $2500 winners share of the 30-lap sprint car main event. Forsberg is the nine-time Civil War champion and current point leader. Becker, a three-time series champion, and his potent team, Menne Motorsports No.75, have decided to race in Marysville this Saturday night.

In four starts this season, Forsberg has won two of the main events that has catapulted him to a commanding 69-point edge over Chico’s Michael Ing. Sebastopol’s Geoff Ensign currently holds down the third position while Fresno’s Koen Shaw is fourth. Behind Shaw is Sutter’s Tyler Seavey who has won the two previous winged 360 shows in a row at Marysville. Chico’s Brad Bumgarner is currently sixth overall. Shane Golobic, Becker, Justin Sanders and Buddy Kofoid round out the top ten in points.

Fans can purchase tickets on-line at

The pit gate will open at 3 PM while the front grandstand gate opens at 5 PM. Starting this Saturday, the pit meeting is being moved from 5:30 PM to 5 PM in hopes of getting the competitors on the track earlier for wheel packing and hot laps.

All kids attending the races and fireworks show 11 and under will be admitted free with a paying adult. Adult general admission is $17.00 into the grandstands. Seniors, juniors and Military with ID are just $14.00 each.

Phillip Shelby continues to dominate the IMCA Sport Mod point series at Marysville Raceway. He holds a staggering 35-point edge over Mike Smith. Shane Devolder holds down the third spot. Thomas Reynolds sits in fourth.

Defending Super Stock champion James Castleberry continues to hold a four-point edge over Mike Walko. Both drivers have visited victory lane this year. Rod Oliver sits in the third spot just and has fallen to 13-points behind Castleberry.

Cody Spencer leads Paul Vandenberg by 15-points in the wingless sprint car division. These two are at the top of the division and the only two who have competed in four of the events in 2017.