Marysville Raceway

Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Special Events
Official Rules
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Industry Links
Contact Us

Castleberry, Spencer and Shelby Shine at Marysville
by Troy Hennig

Marysville, CA (July 1, 2017) – It was only fitting that James Castleberry parked the stars and stripes No. 04 Super Stock in victory lane Saturday night at Marysville Raceway. This night was about Fast Cars and Freedom with an early celebration for the July 4th festivities. The Castleberry No. 04 has always sported the colors of America and seemed to be the perfect fit in victory lane. “Yeah, I guess you’re right,” said Castleberry when asked about the car’s paint job and wining on this night. “I want to thank all the fans that came out to support Marysville Raceway and now let’s get ready for some fireworks.” Castleberry’s win wasn’t’ easy as he had to first pass the hard charging Mike Walko and then hold off Lisa Shelby. “We had some good competition here tonight and it felt good to get the win,” said Castleberry. Shelby finished second in a rare start. Walko recovered from a spin in turn two and drove hard to finish third. Rod Oliver and Michael Helwig rounded out the top five.

Cody Spencer has really enjoyed his season at Marysville Raceway up to this point. He won the thrilling 20-lap wingless main event and will continue to lead the point standings going forward. “I just want to thank Mark and this whole team. I am really having fun this season,” said Spencer. Josh Vieira tried to make it interesting but fell short. The track champion of last season finished second. Brett Youngman and Bruce Marrow finished third and fourth.

There is good, then there is Phillip Shelby. After 20 main event laps during the IMCA Sport Mod feature, Shelby won the race by nearly 14 seconds over Damian Merritt. In fact, Shelby at one point had a chance to lap the fourth, third and second place cars. “I saw them ahead of me and thought about it but they were dicing it up pretty good so I decided to not force the issue,” said Shelby. Howard Law finished in the third spot. Fourth went to Jeremy Phillips. Mike Smith was in fifth, one lap down.

Full results can be found at