Marysville Raceway

Home Page
The Track
Photo Gallery
Video Clips
Race Schedule
Press Releases
Race Results
Point Standings
Special Events
Official Rules
Driver Rosters
Track Champions
Industry Links
Contact Us

Cooper Wins West Coast Sport Mod Tour Finale at Marysville
by Troy Hennig

Marysville, CA (July 29, 2017) – The sixth and final event for the Inaugural West Coast Sport Mod tour was another tremendous success. Twenty-eight drivers competed on a Saturday night in July at Marysville Raceway. Marysville’s Brian Cooper returned to victory lane with an impressive 20-lap feature event win. It was good to see Cooper get the win in front of his hometown family and friends. The Cooper family was instrumental in getting the tour racing and organized. Lee Jensen did all he could to mount numerous charges against Cooper in trying to take the lead but was never successful. Jensen finished just 0.320 behind Cooper at the finish. Phillip Shelby continued to be a force in Sport Mod racing. The current Marysville point leader finished third in tonight’s main event. Front running Michael Johnson crossed the line in fourth. Finishing fifth in the main event was good enough to secure Nick Spainhoward as the inaugural West Coast Sport Mod Tour Champion. Spainhoward won the main event at Chico on the previous night. Jerry Bartlett battled all race long to come home with a sixth-place finish. Bartlett should also be credited with a lot of the behind scenes work and securing bonus prizes awarded to the touring series drivers. Tyler Rodgers won the 12-lap semi-feature. The other five cars to transfer included Damian Merritt, Raymond Benkowski, Shane Devolder, Guy Ahlwardt, Patti Ryland. Shelby, Jensen, Bartlett and Howard Law were all victorious in eight lap heat races. Before the races started, the tour organized a pre-race barbeque for the competitors. The tour also supplied the top three with great trophies on top of other nice touches to make the series a success.

James Castleberry returned to victory lane Saturday night in the Super Stock feature. The 15-lap race was the final event of the night but still featured great racing. It was also good to see seven cars make the show. George Magenheimer won the lone heat race and backed up that strong run with a second-place finish. Mike Walko hung on to finish in the third spot. Rob Oliver came home in fourth. Billy Knoop Jr. did a respectable job to finish fifth.

Danny Wagner continues to be one of the best drivers in the Dwarf Car series. Wagner finished second the night before in Chico and tonight won the exciting 20-lap feature. Kevin Bender, also one of the best in the business, shadowed Wagner for the final few laps. It was close competitive racing that defines the Dwarf Car series. Also, give even more credit to Wagner as he started the main event in the 6th row, eleventh place.
 Coming home in the third spot was Mike Grenert. Brock Peters started seventh and finished fourth. Jeremy Blackshere was once again in the thick of the top five. He ultimately finished fifth. Blackshere won the first eight lap heat race. Chico’s winner Josh King was credited with a sixth-place finish. Wagner won the second heat race. Scott Dahlgren held off Bender by over a full-second to win heat race three. A total of 20 competitors showed up for the Saturday night race.

For full results visit